square facebook logo    square twitter logo    square You Tube logo    square LinkedIn logo    square Flickr logo   

Join NFPW or Renew Membership

NFPW 2018 Conference Ad

First Amendment Network acronym and words on logo

shield law Ad

Katherine Ward receives NFPW President's Award

Katherine Ward, executive Director of Delaware Press Association for the last 20 years and NFPW's electronic communications contest guru, was awarded the NFPW President's Award for her outstanding service to the organization. The award was presented at the NFPW Conference in Greenville, S.C.

A freelance writer, editor, writing coach, educator and author, Ward was presented the award by NFPW President Teri Ehresman, who cited Ward's service to NFPW. The award was in recognition for the hundreds of hours Ward has given over the last several years to switch the NFPW affiliate contests, professional and high school — at both the state and national level — to an electronic format in order to meet the strategic goal of moving our organization into the 21st century. The award is given from time-to-time by the NFPW president, with the approval of the Executive Committee.

Her passions, which are many and diverse, include striving for excellence in communication (including incorporation of First Amendment rights and freedom of information), first-class education for the youth of our nation, and equality for women. She has been an active and loyal member of DPA and of NFPW since 1990.

In accepting the award, she said considering those who have received the award in the past — journalists such as Sarah McClendon and Helen Thomas, and Betty Ford, champion of women's rights — she was deeply honored to receive the seldom-given award.

head and shoulder photo of Katherine Ward.
Katherine Ward, Delaware Press Association

She added: "My receiving such an award would not have been possible without the efforts of those such as Cynthia Price, who for years was a strong advocate for moving forward with an electronic contest; the members of the NFPW board and the Ed Fund board who agreed to take the leap of faith and also put some money on the line; Carol Pierce and Gloria Watkins in the national HQ office, who negotiated for and worked with both the new platform and with countless NFPW members to answer their questions and to accommodate their needs; and all of the affiliate directors of the statewide and high school contests who stepped up to administer the new contest format and put in many hours of time and effort themselves. Thanks are due to all of them, but also to the members of NFPW who made the contest journey into uncharted territory — some who knew where they were going and some who didn't but made the trek all the same. We all have joined hands in this new venture, have come close in a new way, and together have moved NFPW forward to be the best that it can be in our states and on the national scene in this brave new media world. And . . . this wonderful award makes every one of those all-nighters to keep things going to meet contest deadlines ever so worthwhile."

The last time the award was presented was in 1994 when NFPW President Gwen White honored former NFPW President Louise Shadduck with the award.