square facebook logo    square twitter logo    square You Tube logo    square LinkedIn logo    square Flickr logo   

Join NFPW or Renew Membership

NFPW 2018 Conference Ad

First Amendment Network acronym and words on logo

shield law Ad

Lori Potter, Delaware Press Association Take 2014 Sweepstakes Awards

Lori Potter seated and looking toward another lady with back to the camera and photographing Lori with a cell phone. NFPW banners are on the wall in the background.
Lori Potter of Nebraska is a three-time winner of the individual sweepstakes honor.

Lori Potter and Delaware Press Association won top honors in the 2014 National Federation of Press Women’s annual professional communications contest.

Potter captured the individual sweepstakes honor for the third time. She also won top honors in 2008 at the conference in Idaho and 2012 at the conference in Arizona. Potter received a plaque and $250 check for finishing in the top spot. Finishing second was Mary Beth Breckenridge of Ohio who won $150 for her efforts. Third place and $100 went to Christina Motley of North Carolina. The awards were determined based on the number of their winning entries a member submitted and the number of competing entries in those categories.

Delaware Press Association received $100 for having the most members place in the national contest.

This year’s contest featured 22 affiliates and an At-large group submitted 1,502 entries electronically in the statewide contests. Some states also submitted hard-copy entries in categories for books and publications. There were 502 first-place entries from the 124 categories in the state competitions that were advanced to the national competition. Of those entries, there were 101 first-place awards, 94 second-place awards, 70 third-place awards, and 56 honorable mentions.