square facebook logo    square twitter logo    square You Tube logo    square LinkedIn logo    square Flickr logo   

Join NFPW or Renew Membership

NFPW 2018 Conference Ad

First Amendment Network acronym and words on logo

shield law Ad

Texas student wins Award of Excellence

Karla Estrada holds certificate and stands to the right of contest director Gwen Woolf.

Karla Estrada, a rising junior at Duncanville High School in Duncanville, Texas, captured the first NFPW High School Communications Award of Excellence for having the best overall entry in the 2014 NFPW High School Communications Contest. Her feature photo entry, "High Hats deal with tragedy through tribute dance," was deemed the top entry among 20 first-place winning entries.

Karla was on hand to accept her award from NFPW's National High School Contest Director, Gwen Woolf, at the youth contest awards luncheon on Sept. 6 at the NFPW Communications Conference in Greenville, S.C. Karla received first-place awards both for the feature photo and for a sports photo. In addition to award certificates, she received $200 in prize money and a small replica of the large framed and inscribed poster with a First Amendment theme that will be displayed at Duncanville High School. The school also received a check for $500 for its journalism/communications program.

Also present at the luncheon to receive her award and a $100 check was Anna Schecterson, a rising junior at East Mecklenburg High School in Charlotte, N.C., who won first place for reviews.

Amanda Ledbetter, adviser for broadcasting, journalism, and yearbook at Oakbrook Preparatory School in Spartanburg, picked up the honorable mention award for video web news story for her students, Phillip Macdonald, Daniel Ceballos, Murphy Wildeman and Melanie Arvanites, who could not attend.

For more information, read the press release and view the list of winners.