square facebook logo    square twitter logo    square You Tube logo    square LinkedIn logo    square Flickr logo   

Join NFPW or Renew Membership

NFPW 2018 Conference Ad

First Amendment Network acronym and words on logo

shield law Ad


The histories behind the Federation

Press Women of Texas

Press Women of Texas originated as Texas Press Women's Association in 1893 when a group of journalists led by Mrs. A.H. Mohl of the Houston Post and a Mrs. Foute (first name unknown) of the Gulf Messenger decided that there was a need for an organization made up of "women writers for the mutual helpfulness."

The organization officially was founded on May 10, 1893, at the Windsor Hotel in Dallas. Forty women representing 18 Texas towns were listed as members with Mrs. Sydney Smith of Dallas serving as the first president. In 1961 the organization was incorporated as Texas Press Women. Through the years the organization developed into a professional organization for women and men in communications.

purple jagged-edged circle with text 80 years in black and in white, around the edge above 80, dates of the orgnization.

At the 1995 Conference in San Antonio, members voted to change the name to Texas Professional Communicators and in 2003 once again the name was changed to Press Women of Texas (PWT).

An affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women, PWT has provided scholarships to deserving persons, held workshops and featured outstanding speakers at its state conferences. PWT conducts an outstanding High School Journalism Contest that produces national winners, including the Best of the Best in two of the three years in which the award has been given.

The affiliate boasts two former national presidents, Martha Reed of Beaumont, 1979-1981, and Marj Carpenter of Big Springs,1991-1993, and a National Communicator of Achievement, Donna Hunt of Denison in 1989.