square facebook logo    square twitter logo    square You Tube logo    square LinkedIn logo    square Flickr logo    square RSS icon

NFPW 2015 Conference Ad

shield law Ad

shield law Ad

NFPW Competitions

The National Federation of Press Women sponsors several annual competitions to honor excellence in communications:

  • NFPW Communications Contest encourages and rewards excellence in communications in a wide range of categories. Entries are judged by leaders in their fields of expertise. NFPW contest winners are honored at the NFPW Annual Communications Contest Awards Banquet at the organization's annual conference.
  • NFPW High School Communications Contest honors excellence in student journalism. The only nationwide communications competition for high school students, the contest is endorsed by the National Association of Secondary School Principals. Dow Jones announces first-place winners and promotes the competition in its publication distributed to journalism advisers across the nation, giving students and their teachers/advisers local and nationwide recognition.
  • Communicator of Achievement is the highest honor bestowed by NFPW upon members who have distinguished themselves within and beyond their profession. The recipient, chosen from nominees selected by state affiliates, is recognized for exceptional achievement in the communications field, service to NFPW and to the community.

"NFPW is a way to receive feedback on my professional work, as well as a great way to learn from others across the country in the communications and marketing field. Each year I look forward to entering my work into the communications contest, as a way to receive constructive feedback." — Jeanine (Noce) Larson, North Dakota

2009 COA Nominees
Click photo for larger version.

The Communicator of Achievement Affiliate winners gather around the 2009 COA winner Heloise.

Lori Potter seated and looking toward another lady with back to the camera and photographing Lori with a cell phone. NFPW banners are on the wall in the background.

Lori Potter of Nebraska is a three-time winner of the individual sweepstakes honor.