square facebook logo    square twitter logo    square You Tube logo    square LinkedIn logo    square Flickr logo   

Join NFPW or Renew Membership

NFPW 2018 Conference Ad

First Amendment Network acronym and words on logo

shield law Ad

previous button play-pause button next button

Terri Hahn, 2011 Runner-up
Beth Miller Named NFPW National Communicator of Achievement for 2011

Beth Miller
Beth Miller

Council Bluffs, Iowa—The National Federation of Press Women named News Journal staff reporter Beth Miller, of Wilmington, Delaware, its Communicator of Achievement for 2011 at the annual NFPW conference in Council Bluffs, Iowa, on September 9. The runner-up is Terri Hahn, of Osceola, Nebraska, features editor for the Grand Island (Neb.) Independent.

Photo of hotel where conferece will be held.
Harrah's in Council Bluffs, Iowa, is the setting for the 2011 NFPW Conference. The hotel offers a fitness facility and internet access in every room. From the hotel, you'll have a wonderful view of the Omaha skyline and Missouri River. Click on photo to see full image.

We know you love us, but do you really Like us (on Facebook, of course)?

Check for conference updates on the NFPW 2011 Conference Facebook page! It's also a great place to post conference questions as well.

Air/Driving Notes

If you are arriving via Eppley Airfield, to book your Harrah's shuttle, you must email Amy at Harrah's at acammarata@harrahs.com.

If you are driving to Council Bluffs on Interstate 80, there are no closures from the east or west of Council Bluffs. If you are driving north or south on Interstate 29 to Council Bluffs, there are closures due to Missouri River flooding. There are available alternate routes in both Iowa and Nebraska. Check the latest updates on the Iowa DOT website and the Nebraska DOT website.

Pre-Tour Highlights

Congratulations to 2011 communications contest winners!

winner logo

The state affiliate winner was Delaware. Individual sweepstakes winners included 1st place: Tammy Keith of Arkansas, who received a $250 check; 2nd place: Jessie Gunn of Texas, who received a $150 check; and tied for 3rd place were Andre Boyle of Delaware and Joan Tupponce of Virginia, each of whom received a $100 check.

We know that all the winners want to show off their success and now they can with this logo, which is available in the Members Only section for downloading.

Conference Information

If you want to learn about New Media, working Outside the Newspaper Byline or you simply want to develop additional Life Skills, then plan to come to the 2011 NFPW Conference co-hosted by Nebraska and Iowa Press Women.

Conference Sites:

Author David Baldacci signs books at 2007 NFPW Conference.
Best-selling novelist David Baldacci signs copies of his book during the 2007 NFPW conference in Richmond, Va.

Upcoming Sites:

2014—South Carolina (tentative)

Past Sites

Chicago Conference Logo


2010 Conference Highlights

For highlights of the 2010 Conference in Chicago, click the conference logo.